Articles in Opinion

Bugged out by DDT: Matthew Green Trips into the Culture Wars
DDT is so controversial, given its status within the ideological culture wars, that it became the focus of the story, displacing the human interest story Green really wanted told.
by Sean Hurley
Published November 24, 2014 in Opinion (17 comments)

A Bridge Over Troubled Politics
In the upcoming municipal election, I'm going to remember the symbolism of the bridge. I'm going to cheer for the great things that we can accomplish when we work together.
by Ned Nolan
Published October 21, 2014 in Opinion (6 comments)

Killman Zoo, Where Animals Are Living Entertainment
People who see wild animals as pets or living entertainment should not be allowed to own wild animals.
by Jan Wolf
Published June 25, 2014 in Opinion (8 comments)

Public Art or Political Art?
I don't think Frankie "Venom" Kerr would have liked a politician telling him the themes for his songs.
by Santo Barbieri
Published April 18, 2014 in Opinion (51 comments)

Hamilton Should Commemorate Important Local Artists
We have stories in Hamilton, and we need to tell them to ourselves and to the world.
by Ryan Moran
Published April 16, 2014 in Opinion (34 comments)

Charles Dickens' Birthday: An Annual Opportunity to Examine our Social Condition
A study of Dickens demonstrates that we need to put a great deal more effort into improving our treatment of one another.
by Shekar Chandrashekar
Published February 11, 2014 in Opinion (2 comments)

Disappointment, Hope, and Local Community
A new payday loan centre on Main and Dundurn might be exploiting inner-city poverty, but the question is: what exactly are we going to do about it?
by Ryan Janssen
Published January 17, 2014 in Opinion (28 comments)

Environment Ministry Wants Comment on Landfill Expansion
A Hamilton company wants to expand its landfill to include waste from New York and Michigan states.
by Joshua Weresch
Published January 08, 2014 in Opinion (10 comments)

Transportation Plan Must Be Inclusive: Whitehead
Councillor Whitehead argues that changes to lower city streets to make them more community-friendly must balance the ability of other city residents to access the downtown.
by Terry Whitehead
Published October 08, 2013 in Opinion (79 comments)

An Unnecessary Evil: Transportation in the GTHA
The situation on the GTHA's highways is ridiculous, unsustainable and a terribly stupid waste of everyone's time.
by Adrian Duyzer
Published June 06, 2013 in Opinion (20 comments)

Has the 2013 Police Budget gone Renegade?
The provincial government should step in and revise the Act governing Police and Fire to place a limit on arbitration and reconciliation so that each municipality will be better equipped to forecast costs.
by Shekar Chandrashekar
Published May 02, 2013 in Opinion (5 comments)

Proposal: Job Training for Prospective Politicians
Imagine how much better our society would be if our elected political leaders had training for their job.
by Peter Hill
Published April 23, 2013 in Opinion (18 comments)

NDP Transport Critic on Funding The Big Move
The public will not tolerate a Liberal transit funding plan that exempts corporations. The province cannot afford to start our search for transit funding $1.3 billion in the hole.
by Rosario Marchese
Published April 19, 2013 in Opinion (22 comments)

The Fourth 'R' - Ur doin' it RONG
The teachers' unions are fighting the Ontario government's ham-fisted legislation by punishing students.
by James Arlen
Published September 19, 2012 in Opinion (65 comments)

Rental Property Maintenance Toolkit Needs More Carrot
The best scenario for the 23,000 illegal rental households in Hamilton is to keep the roof over their heads, and for the roof to be of a better quality.
by Tanya Ritchie
Published September 06, 2012 in Opinion (43 comments)

PILT Decision Highlights Property Tax Subsidies to Higher Levels of Government
There is an opportunity, in light of the recent Supreme Court of Canada decision, negotiate fair compensation for the City of Hamilton that lessens the burden on the property taxpayers of this community.
by Terry Whitehead
Published June 20, 2012 in Opinion (8 comments)

Lessons for Today from Pre-Contact Civilization at Cootes Paradise
Archaeologist David G. Smith examines how pre-contact cultures lived off the land at Cootes Paradise. What can we learn today from these early people?
by Margaret Lindsay Holton
Published June 18, 2012 in Opinion (9 comments)

In Support of Refugee Medical Care
The Federal Government's plan to reduce medical services available to refugee claimants in Canada is a false economy that will be unfair to refugees and risky for public health.
by Tim O'Shea
Published June 07, 2012 in Opinion (7 comments)

In Defense of One-way Streets
We can make more room for alternative transport modes while respecting the preferences of people who appreciate the efficiency of one-way streets.
by Kent Lee
Published June 07, 2012 in Opinion (118 comments)

School Board Creates Education Desert
How often do we have to stress walkability and vibrant neighbourhoods? How often do we have to ironically re-phrase the slogan "Best Place to Raise a Child"?
by Tanya Ritchie
Published May 29, 2012 in Opinion (13 comments)

Health Benefits of Bicyling Must be Paired with Road Safety
Let's go forward with a more bicycle friendly city - and combine that with an insistence that all who use the roadways understand what the basic rules are and how use them
by Robert Fick
Published May 22, 2012 in Opinion (20 comments)

Into a Mirror, Darkly?...Or Twin Siblings of Different Mothers
A feeling of helplessness pervaded the goings-on at both the general issues committee and the NEN meeting. Perhaps Council feels just as beleaguered and handicapped as residents consistently do.
by M Adrian Brassington
Published September 14, 2011 in Opinion (16 comments)

Something's Wrong, Something Mighty Wrong
The original definition of the phrase 'to lead' is to guide someone or a group from one place to another. This requires competency, it requires the generation of trust and of faith.
by M Adrian Brassington
Published August 30, 2011 in Opinion (29 comments)

From Reading Cities to Doing Cities
Our geography gives us an opportunity to reinvent Hamilton in ways that no other city in North America has ever had an opportunity to envision. We need to develop capacity not to catch the next wave, but to become the next wave.
by Mahesh P. Butani
Published August 16, 2011 in Opinion (28 comments)

Deep-Reading the Urban Form
Engaging with the various layers of historic, political and geographic sub-structures upon which a city stands allows for richer insights into how cities evolve, and how different cities evolve differently.
by Mahesh P. Butani
Published August 09, 2011 in Opinion (7 comments)

Why Bratina is on the Right Track (Even if he Can't Explain)
The improved GO connections that Mayor Bratina is pushing are far more likely to transpire in the near term than a downtown tramway and have the potential to provide some major benefits.
by Ray Lawlor
Published August 01, 2011 in Opinion (24 comments)

It's Time to Take Our Booze Back
Ontario remains stuck with liquor control regulations that were written in the 1920s. It's time to break up the regulated beer monopoly and let entrepreneurs innovate and compete fairly.
by Lorenzo Somma
Published July 20, 2011 in Opinion (18 comments)

Hamilton as Educational Startup Centre
If Hamilton waits for McMaster to embrace downtown Hamilton, we might be waiting for a long time. Better to create our own institutions from the ground up.
by Mahesh P. Butani
Published July 18, 2011 in Opinion (6 comments)

Flawed Census Isn't Much Of A Census At All
Politically-motivated tinkering has blocked the collection of reliable, valid data that is so important in properly delivering social programs in Canada.
by Michael Borrelli
Published May 06, 2011 in Opinion (17 comments)

Paying for Canada's National Debt
Our large and growing public debts should be paid off by those Canadians who have most benefited from them.
by Michael Borrelli
Published April 28, 2011 in Opinion (49 comments)

A Case for Multi-Unit House Conversions
We need to re-think the idea that multi-unit properties are nothing more than slums. In a world of rising oil prices, a shrinking middle class and a real need for community growth, these types of units are important.
by T.S. Ritchie
Published April 26, 2011 in Opinion (84 comments)

A Case Against Fluoridation
Are the professionals and countries which oppose fluoridation wrong? Is a petition the right way to make change?
by Bob Green Innes
Published March 25, 2011 in Opinion (44 comments)

Consumption, Consumption, What's My Function?
The amount of resources consumed just to extract resources we can consume has become staggeringly high. How much farther can this go?
by Christopher Kiely
Published March 10, 2011 in Opinion (17 comments)

Local Ownership and Hamilton's Economy
Ultimately, only locally-based businesses with roots in the community will provide the benefits we wish to see from commerce and trade.
by Undustrial
Published February 10, 2011 in Opinion (56 comments)

Public Photography in the Public Library
The Hamilton Public Library should embrace the opportunity to benefit from community sharing and promotion, instead of wasting resources in a futile attempt to stop it.
by Wayne MacPhail
Published January 20, 2011 in Opinion (19 comments)

The Means or the Ends?
The reasons to pursue more sustainable living go beyond our collective responsibility. Living sustainably brings about a sense of connectedness through experience; a rare find in the modern world.
by Kevin Wiens
Published January 17, 2011 in Opinion (32 comments)

The Coming Nuclear Subprime Rout
With asset leverage able to surpass 250 times the nominal value of an underlying security, the ballooning of paper assets due to the Nuclear Renaissance can quite quickly make the US subprime asset balloon seem rather small beer.
by Andrew McKillop
Published November 04, 2010 in Opinion (15 comments)

A Bridge too Farr: Questioning the Campaign Against Cormorants
Submerging Farr Island to deter cormorants may fulfill special interests, but it will create a large black mark against Hamilton's record of environmental integrity and local biodiversity.
by Paul Glendenning
Published September 22, 2010 in Opinion (33 comments)

Is LRT Really Worth It?
An alternative perspective on the future of rapid transit in Hamilton.
by Ray Lawlor
Published August 31, 2010 in Opinion (31 comments)

Is the Mayor Leading the West Harbour Side?
Saturday's West Harbour rally is an opportunity for the Mayor to coalesce a worthy movement around his leadership. The crowd will be in no mood to hear diplomatic triteness.
by Keanin Loomis
Published August 06, 2010 in Opinion (19 comments)

What is a Stadium Worth?
I'd feel more pride in our city if we had a clean harbour, clean air, less unemployment and fewer vacant polluted lots than a decade of back-to-back Grey Cup victories.
by Christopher Kiely
Published July 15, 2010 in Opinion (25 comments)

Ivor Wynne Is Already a Great Stadium Location
We are overlooking something special about Ivor Wynne Stadium being in the centre of Hamilton's downtown district.
by Larry Pattison
Published July 07, 2010 in Opinion (43 comments)

Property Destruction and Violence
For a city all too willing to go after homeowners with "inappropriate" wildflowers in their front lawns, we take a remarkably lax view on wholesale building demolition and the rampant destruction of wild spaces.
by Undustrial
Published July 06, 2010 in Opinion (4 comments)

Police Chiefs and Premiers
Bogus weapons caches, secret orders-in-council, imaginary special police powers, widespread abuses of peaceful protesters: Premier McGuinty and Chief Blair have some serious explaining to do.
by Lorne Warwick
Published June 30, 2010 in Opinion (40 comments)

Mass Protests or Community Building?
A successful movement needs to be quick on its feet and adapt, and the goal has to be one of winning over people to our idea of the common good that we can build together.
by Michael Borrelli
Published June 28, 2010 in Opinion (22 comments)

A Welcoming City for Immigrants
It should concern us all when immigrants - and the new ideas, new approaches to problem solving, new music and art they bring wiht them - feel marginalized and unwelcome in our city.
by Christopher Kiely
Published June 16, 2010 in Opinion (94 comments)

HPD to Council: Don't Accept Aerotropolis Secondary Plan
When Hamiltonians learn that their property taxes are going to be raised to subsidize the destruction of our farmland, it is safe to say that they will become rather more interested in the AEGD.
by Michael Desnoyers
Published June 14, 2010 in Opinion (36 comments)

On Preparing to Run for Council (One Day)
I want to run for city council. But first, I need to study the arena, develop platform points of my own, and try to make a difference in my community.
by Chris Erl
Published May 31, 2010 in Opinion (3 comments)

Play Nice, Both of You!
Mayoral candidates have to demonstrate self-control and avoid impulsive anger; at the same time, newspapers have a responsibility to cover all electoral candidates, not just the 'stars'.
by Rene Gauthier
Published May 18, 2010 in Opinion (49 comments)

Bloggers and the Boutique Generation
Mayoral candidate Mahesh Butani expands on last week's open letter to Spectator columnist Andrew Dreschel.
by Mahesh P. Butani
Published May 17, 2010 in Opinion (9 comments)

Thank You, Andrew
Mayoralty candidate Mahesh Butani takes Spectator columnist Andrew Dreschel to task for dismissing his candidacy in a single sentence in today's column.
by Mahesh P. Butani
Published May 14, 2010 in Opinion (31 comments)

Open Letter to Terry Cooke: Please Intervene to Save Brantford Heritage
As a member of the YMCA Brantford Governing Council and the Chair of the Canadian Urban Institute, Terry Cooke is well-positioned to put a stop to the destruction of 41 Victorian buildings on Colborne Street in Brantford.
by Mahesh P. Butani
Published March 09, 2010 in Opinion (12 comments)

The Bi-Polarity of the Core
We will never truly revitalize the downtown core until we can overcome our parochialism and cast away our lingering suburban mindset.
by Mahesh P. Butani
Published January 25, 2010 in Opinion (52 comments)

Are You Angry Enough to Get Involved?
I want a downtown that is a destination, not an avoidance. I want a downtown that is a model, not an embarrassment. I want a downtown that garners respect, not ridicule from other cities across Canada.
by Lorne Opler
Published December 07, 2009 in Opinion (114 comments)

Globalization Unchecked: How Alien Media Suffocate Real Culture
To sell products, global media also sell ideas, often one-sided, and create unjustifiable fascinations with ways of life that hardly represent natural progression for many vanishing cultures and communities around the world.
by Ramzy Baroud
Published November 18, 2009 in Opinion (6 comments)

Cross Border Twin Cities?
Having lived in Buffalo and now Hamilton, I see countless similarities between the two cities. Here is my take on what makes both these cities alike - and both likable.
by Lorne Opler
Published November 06, 2009 in Opinion (14 comments)

Sushi to Go, Please
If we observe more and shout less - we can see the first blush of spring in many dark corners of our urban empire.
by Mahesh P. Butani
Published October 06, 2009 in Opinion (10 comments)

National Post Lobs More Hyperbole Across Manufactured Car/Bicycle Divide
Should the blatant and unapologetic opposition to cycling initiatives in Toronto make us thankful for our own media's apathetic feigned concern?
by Jonathan Dalton
Published September 30, 2009 in Opinion (22 comments)

The Mad Connaught
If the downtown is for everyone, where is the rest of everyone?
by Reg Beaudry
Published September 15, 2009 in Opinion (138 comments)

A Blueprint for the NEXT Hamilton
Mayor Eisenberger argues that our new Official Plan will help shape the Hamilton of tomorrow.
by Fred Eisenberger
Published July 02, 2009 in Opinion (42 comments)

Police Instigate Cyclist Conflict, Vandalize Bicycle
Hamilton Police need to be better prepared for a future in which respectable citizens live and patronize downtown, and are likely to be riding bicycles.
by Jonathan Dalton
Published June 23, 2009 in Opinion (51 comments)

Is Hamilton Destined for Yet Another Big Box Development?
At what point will our council decide that enough is enough and make an honest-to-goodness effort to turn our community into something other cities can look to for leadership?
by Frank Borger
Published June 16, 2009 in Opinion (30 comments)

Toward a Sound Economy
The main cause of the economic crisis is not the loss on the subprime mortgages, but the structurally decreased capacity of banks to take losses.
by Rudo de Ruijter
Published June 16, 2009 in Opinion (1 comment)

Term Limits, Municipal Parties and Democratic Reform
Term limits restrict effective politicians and lifers alike, but political parties might end council deadlock and improve municipal politics.
by Chris Erl
Published March 25, 2009 in Opinion (8 comments)

Mesmerized by Melodic Rhetoric
In the shadow of the economic crisis, now may be the last chance for Americans to reform their dysfunctional political system without violence and societal collapse.
by Joel S. Hirschhorn
Published February 11, 2009 in Opinion (0 comments)

Change the Lobby
If we are truly to see some transformation in the way the US now rules the world, the war-mongering machine must be dismantled.
by Ramzy Baroud
Published February 11, 2009 in Opinion (18 comments)

Gaza and the World: Will Things Ever Change?
One has to wonder: if Israel kills a thousand more, ten thousand, or half of Gaza, will the US still blame Palestinians?
by Ramzy Baroud
Published January 08, 2009 in Opinion (32 comments)

The Rights of Women as Casualties of War
Equality between the genders is not only an act of virtue, but also a sound strategy for a brighter future for any nation, rich or poor.
by Ramzy Baroud
Published November 26, 2008 in Opinion (0 comments)

World Food Day: Global Crises' Double Standards
Those who cried foul every time a Third World government dared intervene in their national economy said nothing as the US, the UK and others defied every rule of the free market economy.
by Ramzy Baroud
Published November 04, 2008 in Opinion (0 comments)

Dubai: Land of Luxury, Land of Slavery
By investing in Dubai, celebrities are giving tacit approval to a hideous society and its obscene values.
by George Patrick
Published October 02, 2008 in Opinion (59 comments)

Palestinian Economy: From Bad to Wretched
Without proper channels to empower the Palestinian individual and community, Palestinians will remain economically disadvantaged and thus politically handicapped.
by Ramzy Baroud
Published October 02, 2008 in Opinion (2 comments)

Global Realignment: How Bush Inspired a New World Order
The upcoming US president will find himself face-to-face with a drastically altered world order defined by military pandemonium, global economic decline, and the rise of new powers vying to fill a chaotic power vacuum.
by Ramzy Baroud
Published September 11, 2008 in Opinion (0 comments)

Edmonton's Major LRT Push
LRT is a perfect fit for Hamilton, but we must not forget to ensure high-density development at these nodes, as Edmonton is doing.
by Thom Oommen
Published July 07, 2008 in Opinion (6 comments)

Coexistence, Not Apartheid
If Israel is indeed interested in a peaceful resolution to this bloody conflict, it must add a new word to its lexicon: coexistence.
by Ramzy Baroud
Published June 05, 2008 in Opinion (0 comments)

Mixed Priorities: Why Palestinian Unity is Not an Option
For Israel, the clash between Abbas' Fatah and Islamic Hamas was a golden opportunity, one that is comparable to the benefits gleaned from another opportune moment, the terrorist attacks of September 11.
by Ramzy Baroud
Published April 30, 2008 in Opinion (0 comments)

Media Language and War: Manufacturing Convenient Realities
To approach the truth, journalists must comprehend the context, analyse the motives and follow the line of logic, and then report without self-censorship, coercion or intimidation.
by Ramzy Baroud
Published February 14, 2008 in Opinion (2 comments)

Apologists for Oppression: The Pernicious Cult of Media 'Experts'
As those justifying violence on the basis of security work to make the world increasingly unsafe, there seems an equally increasing need for a new kind of media that requires a new kind of 'expert'.
by Ramzy Baroud
Published November 27, 2007 in Opinion (2 comments)

A Case for Arab Dignity
Arab countries need an element of self-reflection and responsibility to make viable any pragmatic steps towards improvement and justice.
by Ramzy Baroud
Published November 08, 2007 in Opinion (0 comments)

The Butt Pinching Syndrome
Looking back from the future, tomorrow's historians may struggle to understand the bizarre happenings of the early 21st century.
by Peter Ormond
Published September 28, 2007 in Opinion (4 comments)

School Closures, Sprawl, and the Broken Funding Formula
The provincial school funding formula arbitrarily discriminates against smaller urban schools and promotes large suburban warehouse schools, which encourages sprawl and urban disinvestment.
by Craig Hermanson
Published June 07, 2007 in Opinion (0 comments)

An Easy Ride
The real problem is that Hamilton has to keep transit fares extremely low to compete with the relative ease and convenience of driving.
by Jonathan Dalton
Published March 19, 2007 in Opinion (10 comments)

What's Happening In Caledonia
A recent presentation cast some light on the history and context of the Six Nations land claim controversy in Caledonia.
by Connie Kidd
Published February 26, 2007 in Opinion (18 comments)

The Evil Genius at 24 Sussex
The "Tax Fairness Plan" has nothing to do with tax fairness and everything to do with giving Stephen Harper the power to enact his agenda for Canada.
by Harold Stebbe
Published February 26, 2007 in Opinion (2 comments)

You Don't Know, Jack
The NDP support for the Conservative government's decision to tax income trusts puts the interests of big business ahead of workers and pensioners.
by Harold Stebbe
Published February 09, 2007 in Opinion (13 comments)

Urbanists, Amateur and Otherwise
Like any part of culture, a vibrant and inventive city requires professionals, connoisseurs and amateurs: people who care passionately about their city.
by Nicholas Kevlahan
Published December 13, 2006 in Opinion (0 comments)

A Quick Buck
Hunting deer to control their numbers might actually be making deer more numerous.
by Paul Glendenning
Published December 13, 2006 in Opinion (3 comments)

Killman Zoo of Horrors
A recent trip to a local roadside zoo has forever embedded a haunted memory of torment and depression as captive animals languish in substandard conditions.
by Paul Glendenning
Published November 08, 2006 in Opinion (31 comments)

Bridging the Divide
Without leadership that promotes a climate of compromise and brings all parties representing differing visions together, Hamilton's political divide could become entrenched.
by Paul Shaker
Published October 20, 2006 in Opinion (12 comments)

Leading Hamilton to a Healthy Future
We need to challenge some of the current "accepted" practices in favour of more balanced and sustainable ideas that benefit more than an influential few.
by Paul Glendenning
Published October 20, 2006 in Opinion (0 comments)

Legalize Neighborhoods Again!
Traditional city development is now illegal across most of North America.
by David Greusel
Published August 30, 2006 in Opinion (0 comments)

Pipelines to 9/11
The terrorist attacks of 9/11 gave the US government the pretext it needed to launch the war in Afghanistan that it was already planning.
by Rudo de Ruijter
Published August 30, 2006 in Opinion (0 comments)

A Civilized, Democratic Fuss
A Dundas resident enters the world of citizen engagement by trying to save a tree.
by Maggie Fox
Published June 16, 2006 in Opinion (2 comments)

Kuwabara on Hamilton's City Square
The architect who renovated the AGH says Hamilton needs to focus urban revitalization around Gore Park, which he calls "one of Canada's great urban spaces."
by Nicholas Kevlahan
Published June 16, 2006 in Opinion (7 comments)

Keep the Momentum Going
Andrew Allen makes a case for LIUNA's plan to demolish and replicate the Lister Block.
by Andrew Allen
Published June 16, 2006 in Opinion (1 comment)

US-IRAN: Raid on the nuclear fuel market
The United States is buying European support for its campaign against Iran with the promise of a nuclear fuel enrichment oligopoly.
by Rudo de Ruijter
Published May 05, 2006 in Opinion (1 comment)

Peak Oil And Darwinism: The New Denial Industry
Deliberate confusion and disinformation have, as ever, taken the driver's seat in a non-debate now dominated by slogan trading.
by Andrew McKillop
Published May 05, 2006 in Opinion (11 comments)

Jane and Lewis
Jane Jacobs and Lewis Mumford were united on many urban issues, but could not agree on how best to humanize cities.
by David Cohen
Published May 05, 2006 in Opinion (1 comment)

Black Gold and 21st Century Monetarism
Monetarists won't let the evidence get in the way of a good, old-fashioned, economy-busting interest rate hike.
by Andrew McKillop
Published April 21, 2006 in Opinion (1 comment)

Energy Philosophy For Entropic Times
Change has to come and will come. Peak Oil means we are going somewhere else where we could or might do better.
by Andrew McKillop
Published April 09, 2006 in Opinion (3 comments)

Busy Signal
Hamiltonians for Progressive Development ask Mayor Di Ianni and City Council to keep their promise and respond to the group's open letter of August 23, 2005.
by Michael Desnoyers and Jack Santa-Barbara
Published March 18, 2006 in Opinion (1 comment)

Mainline: Geostrategy Feeds America's Oil Addiction
The large players in oil - Saudi Arabia, Canada, Kuwait, UAE, Libya and Nigeria - are playing in toe with the US and British Administrations. The problems lie with the Soviet Union, Iraq, Iran and, Venezuela.
by Jacob Matthan
Published March 01, 2006 in Opinion (7 comments)

How can the Dollar Collapse in Iran?
The Iranian Oil Bourse threatens the historic role of the US dollar as the world's reserve currency.
by Rudo de Ruijter
Published February 15, 2006 in Opinion (6 comments)

Don't Go with the Flow
Tragedy is avoidable if we demand that the failure in traffic engineering at Cootes and Main be altered to reflect the needs of pedestrians and cyclists.
by Randy Kay
Published February 15, 2006 in Opinion (0 comments)

Hamilton's contrary policies regarding public transit
If we are to make progress in our goal of creating the city we want we have to sort out the contradictions in how we pay for transit.
by Roy Adams
Published January 27, 2006 in Opinion (0 comments)

Faux Fashion: Dead Furry Animals Make a Comeback
With technologically enhanced pop stars and washed-up celebrities now openly sporting furs, the slaughter of animals for fashion is once again on the rise.
by Paul Glendenning
Published January 27, 2006 in Opinion (3 comments)

Violence Linked to Sprawl
Before sprawl, children could depend on the whole community for support, guidance, and direction in the absence of a parental figure.
by Douglas E. Morris
Published November 28, 2005 in Opinion (0 comments)

Compromise Works Both Ways
It takes two to compromise or negotiate, but expressway supporters refused even to consider the many alternatives proposed by Friends of Red Hill and others.
by Don McLean
Published October 07, 2005 in Opinion (0 comments)

As We Build So Shall We Live
While it probably won't rid the world of greed, ethnocentrism and violence, building a nonviolent city that respects other life forms and celebrates human creativity and diversity is consistent with solving those problems.
by Richard Register
Published September 15, 2005 in Opinion (0 comments)

Red Hill Opponents Should Have Compromised
Former Ward 1 Councillor Marvin Caplan argues that the opponents to the Red Hill Expressway should have agreed to a compromise that would deliver more protected greenspace, bicycle infrastructure, and funding for community groups.
by Marvin Caplan
Published September 15, 2005 in Opinion (0 comments)

It's Our Time To Shine
It's time we all embrace Hamilton's 2014 Commonwealth Games bid.
by Andrew Allen
Published August 22, 2005 in Opinion (3 comments)

Land Gluttony
Just as population is increasing by large amounts and land wanted for development is dwindling, sprawl developments are getting less and less dense. Developers want you to think there's no problem.
by Joel S. Hirschhorn
Published August 22, 2005 in Opinion (2 comments)

The CBC and Hamilton
The need for the CBC in Hamilton is an issue about a lack of local broadcast media diversity.
by Sonja Macdonald and Paul Shaker
Published March 14, 2005 in Opinion (4 comments)

Wastewater Mistreatment
For the past ten years, Hamilton has turned a blind eye to the operations at Woodward Avenue. Since the City has now regained full control of these systems, I am frightened at the prospect of what they will find.
by Roger Lambert
Published January 14, 2005 in Opinion (0 comments)

Article Archives

Events Calendar

Recent Articles

Article Archives

Blog Archives

Site Tools

Feeds